ICMR-NIRTH, Jabalpur


Model Rural Health Research Unit, Datia



Model Rural Health Research Unit (MRHRU) has been sanctioned by the Department of Health Research (DHR), Government of India at Badoni, District Datia, MP.

The objectives of the scheme are:


  • Create infrastructure at the periphery for transfer of technology to the rural level for improving the quality of health services to rural population.

  • To ensure an interface between the new technology developers (Researchers in the Medical Institutions; State or Centre), health systems operators (Centre or state health services) and the beneficiaries (communities in rural areas)
  • Ensure the much needed geographical spread of health research infrastructure in the Country


The Collector, Datia has allotted land in the campus of PHC, Badoni, Datia for the unit. The construction work of the MRHRU building by the Project Implementation  Unit of MP PWD is in progress. The unit is presently located at the newly built complex of the District Hospital, Datia and shall be shifted to Badoni after the completion of the MRHRU building. The need based equipments have been procured and installed. The scientific and the supporting staff have been recruited.


Research Advisory Committee (RAC, MRHRU, Datia) has been constituted under the chairmanship of  Dr. D.S.Agrawal, Former Dean, Maulana Azad Medical College, New Delhi.


RAC Members:

  • Dr Ashoo Grover, Scientist E, ICMR hqrs, New Delhi
  • Dr Rajesh Gaur, Prof. Pathology, GR Medical College, Gwalior and Dean, Medical College, Datia
  • Dr Pradeep Upadhyay, Chief Medical & Health Officer, Datia

Following projects have been approved by RAC:

  1. 1. Health and nutritional status of saharia PVTG in Datia district

  2. 2. Haemoglobinopathies screening  in District Datia (MP) and surrounding areas

Project Staff working at MRHRU, Datia:

S.No. Name of Staff Designation E-mail ID Phone Number
1. Dr. Priyanka Ghose Scientist-C (Medical) dr.priyankaghose@gmail.com  
2. Dr. S.L. Balakrishanan Scientist-C (Non-Medical) lokeswarabks@gmail.com 9479509605
3. Mrs. Shubhangi Chaurasia Technical Assistant (Statistics) shubhangichaurasia1989@gmail.com  
4. Mr. Hemant Sinha Technical Assistant (Research) aryan19981@gmail.com 9993883154
5. Mr. Ajay Vishwakarma Assistant (Multipurpose) ajay.vish92@gmail.com 7566513524
6. Mr. Saikant Wahane Technician-C (Lab Technician) wahanesaikant.77@gmail.com 8602846608, 7974927400